Sally Bend

Reader, Reviewer, and Editor | Nonbinary | Neurodivergent | FLR Princess


Book Review: Principle Decisions by Thea Belmont (romance)

TitlePrinciple Decisions
Author: Thea Belmont
Publication Date: November 29, 2023
Genres: Romance
Protagonist Gender: Female

Oh my, but this was a delight! Principle Decisions delivered on everything that I expected, but it also delivered some surprises as well. There were aspects of both Vivienne and the story that I wasn’t expecting, that spoke to me deeply, and I know that connection certainly flavored my reading of this.

The cover blurb describes Vivienne as icy, aloof, and sexually frustrated, but it’s so much deeper than that. Here we have a woman who has sacrificed for her family, given of her free time and relationship dreams, to care for her orphaned niece. Vivienne comes across as icy and aloof because she holds so much in, because she is so reluctant (and afraid) to allow any sort of human connection. She’s so committed to the roles of professor and caregiver that she hasn’t the time or space for a lover, or even friend. At first, I thought I disliked her because of how frustrated I was with her, but then I realized that what really bothered me was that she forced me to really consider how my family has felt about me – I saw aspects that I disliked about myself in her.

Like Vivienne, I find the role of submission, the act of being controlled, dominated, punished–and then cared for–to be extraordinarily soothing. We both come away from it with the same sense of a relief so deep, so permeating, that it’s hard to explain to others. It’s cathartic, and it’s also sometimes hard to remember professional boundaries.

And that brings us to Selene. She is, in a word, marvelous. All too often it’s the domme who is written as cold or stern, sacrificing a personality for a presence, but she comes across like someone you could happily sit and have coffee with and never suspect her other activities. She’s what I would call playfully stern, someone to be respected and admired, but also someone who doesn’t need to feel feared or to make a submissive feel humiliated in order to work her magic. The sparks are there from the start, and my heart was fully invested in seeing them achieve a happily-ever-after.

There is also a well-written subplot to this about Vivienne’s niece and her best friend, a transgender boy who is being bullied at school. It explores the overall novel’s message of tolerance, love, and taking responsibility in a sort of microcosm. That being said, I do feel like Vivienne’s family was the weakest link in the story, especially her sister, Hattie, who feels so timid and meek that I, once again, had to confront the sort of exhausting level emotional trauma we can sometimes inflict on our families. My spouse has told me that, since I’ve begun getting help for my anxiety, she not only loves me more but likes me again–and it’s hard to realize you were unlikable.

I’ve rambled on enough, and likely injected more personality into this review than most would care for, but Principle Decisions was a fabulous read. The BDSM scenes are delightful, the romance is scrumptious, and the drama that threatens to keep the lovers apart is genuine. Please, do pick that red business card from the book and give Selene a chance.

Rating: ♀ ♀ ♀ ♀ 1/2

My sincere thanks to the publisher for sending me an ARC in exchange for an honest review.



3 responses to “Book Review: Principle Decisions by Thea Belmont (romance)”

  1. […] Book Review: Principle Decisions by Thea Belmont […]

    Like

  2. […] Book Review: Principle Decisions by Thea Belmont […]

    Like

Leave a comment

About Sally

Sally Bend is a nonbinary author, editor, and reviewer. Although shy and polite (she is, after all, Canadian), she loves to boldly and boisterously express herself through stories that bend the binaries of gender while exploring submissive sexuality.





ARCHIVE


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started